Sena Sakaguchi set a new lap record of 1m09.627s aboard the #19 Yokohama Toyota GR Supra, beating the three-year-old benchmark held by Honda’s Kudai Tsukakoshi.

This was despite Sakaguchi being held up on the final lap by Nakajima Racing Honda’s Takuya Izawa, who was called to the stewards for an unsafe re-entry to the track after a shutdown at SP Corner.

Toyota secured the lockout on the front row thanks to Yuji Tachikawa in the Cerumo GR Supra, who was 0.378s behind the Bandoh car in second place.

Nissan’s flagship NISMO Z finished third in the hands of Tsugio Matsuda, 0.422s off the pace, but would drop to seventh due to Matsuda’s four-place penalty.

That moves the Kunimitsu Honda NSX-GT team, which saw Naoki Yamamoto set the fourth fastest time, to third on the grid, the best of the fuel-flow restrictor machines this weekend.

  • Stream every 2022 qualifying session and race SUPER GT season only on

Of the three cars with fuel flow restrictors in the second stage, only Real Racing Honda made it out of the first quarter, with Nobuharu Matsushita qualifying fifth and fourth on the grid due to Matsuda’s penalty.

Yuichi Nakayama (SARD Toyota) and Ukyo Sasahara (Mugen Honda) move up to fifth and sixth, while Izawa is eighth in the slowest Q2 of the competition following his exclusion.

Sasahara’s teammate Toshiki Oyu had earlier set a new lap record in Q1, which was later broken in the second session by Sakaguchi on his way to pole position.

The No. 37 TOM’S Toyota and No. 3 NDDP Racing Nissan will start 10th and 11th, respectively, with their second-stage restrictors after retiring in Q1.

After winning last month at Suzuka, the points-leading Impul Nissan, the only car in the field with a fuel limiter in stage three, finished 14th in the hands of Kazuki Hiromin.

Starting at the back of the GT500 grid will be the #36 Toyota TOM’S of Sho Tsuboi and Giuliana Alessi, which failed to set a time in Q1 after encountering mechanical issues.

#96 K-tunes RC F GT3

Photo: Masahide Kamio

K-tunes Racing took pole position in the GT300 class with veteran driver Shinichi Takagi setting a top time of 1×17.373s in the team’s Lexus RC F GT3.

Takagi’s time was enough to take first place by an impressive 0.318s ahead of Hideki Yamauchi’s Subaru BRZ.

Rounding out the top three was the Dunlop LM Corsa Toyota GR Supra driven by Shunsuke Kona, followed by the two Yokohama-equipped JLOC Lamborghini Huracan GT3s.

Tsuchiya Engineering secured its best grid slot of the year with its new Supra, finishing seventh after exiting Q1 for the first time.

The Kondo Racing Nissan GT-R NISMO GT3 of Kyoto Fujinami and João Paulo de Oliveira, still carrying a maximum of 100kg of success ballast, qualified ninth in the hands of Fujinami, but will start 13th due to four places behind de Oliveira. network drop.

Results are pending

Previous articlePEZ Bookshelf: Chasing the Rainbow
Next articleBetter to be safe than sorry