The 2022 Trans Am Series season presented by Pirelli is approaching its finale at the Circuit of The Americas, so there are still several points races that will not be decided until next Sunday. Here’s your update on what’s going on with the National and Western Championship players participating in COTA:

TA: Although Chris Dyson in the No. 16 ALTWELL Ford Mustang has already clinched the 2022 TA championship title with five wins, the battle for second through fourth remains tight. Tommy Drissi (#8 Lucas Oil Ford Mustang), Amy Rouman (#23 McNichols Co. Corvette) and Ken Thwaites (#7 Franklin Road Apparel Camaro) are within 11 points of each other for the runner-up spot. . Drissi is currently in second place with 219 points, with Ruman just six points behind. Thwaites now sits in fourth place, just five points behind Rouman.

TA2: Rafa Matas in the #88 3-Dimensional Services Mustang looks to be on track to capture his third career TA2 championship and second straight title, but Connor Mossack (#28 Open Eyes/Nacarato Truck Centers/Nic Tailor Custom Fit Underwear Ford Mustang), Thomas Merrill (#26 BridgeHaul/HP Tuners/Cope Race Cars) and Brent Crews (#70 Nitro Motorsports Mustang) are still in contention for the title. At the moment, Matos is 30 points ahead of Mossack and 32 points ahead of Merrill. Crews is just one point behind Merrill, and with 35 possible points up for grabs in the race, a perfect weekend from any of the three contenders combined with the points leader struggling could lead to an upset.

The TA2 Wilwood Brent Crews Rookie of the Year race is over, but $20,000 is still up for grabs for the TA2 Young Gun Award. Mosack and Crews are separated by just three points at COTA, meaning the year’s intense battle will come down to the final race.

SGT: Milton Grant in Porsche 991.1 No. 55 Sentry Self Storage/Springhill Suites leads son Cary Grant by 31 points in the No. 6 Grant Racing 2 Porsche GT3 Cup, which means the race is almost decided. However, only seven points separate Grant Jr. and Lee Saunders (#44 LandSearch LLC Dodge Viper) in third. The battle for fourth and fifth will be between teammates Cindy Lux in the #45 Black Rock Coffee Viper with 92 points and Dirk Leuberger in the #35 Lux Performance Group Viper with 90 points.

GT: Billy Griffin in the #14 Griffin Auto Care/Sheehan Towing Ford Mustang would take the GT Championship title with 70 points between him and his closest competitors.

TA2: Jeff Holden in the No. 11 Lithium/Mid Valley Transmission Camaro currently holds a 12-point lead over runner-up Ken Sutherland in the No. 68 Cascade Sotheby’s/Wyatt Fire Protection Camaro. Holden has three wins this season (WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca, Sonoma Raceway and Utah Motorsports Campus Race 1), compared to Sutherland’s lone win at Portland International Raceway.

SGT: Chris Evans in #99 Chris Evans Inc. Ford Mustang leads Howard Johnston in the #32 IWS Acquisition Group Ford Mustang by 16 points. Both are competing next weekend, but in the XGT class, so Evans will be in contention for the SGT title.

All Trans Am series questions will be answered on Sunday, November 6, when the TA/XGT/SGT/GT and TA2 races take place. Champions, Best Young Shooter, Rookie of the Year, CForce Fan Favorite Awards winners and more will be crowned at the Trans Am Awards ceremony on Sunday night following the on-track events.

Previous articleThe first photo taken by the Samsung Galaxy S23 may have been leaked
Next articleThe Alfa Romeo Giulia Competizione is a grand display of performance and style