The accident that befell the current leader of the Formula One World Championship, which was caused by a brake problemof course stole the headlines. But there were also eight races, seven for pre-World War II Grand Prix cars and one for 1950s sports cars, and several former masters participated.

The historic event around the famous streets usually takes place every two years, but the COVID-19 pandemic has forced the 2020 event to be postponed. This meant that competitors returned just over 12 months after the 12th Historique, which became the site of another incident involving an F1 racer and a classic Ferrari …

Ace GT Stuart Hall became one of the undisputed stars this time, getting a double with McLaren technology in two races for F1 cars of the 1970s.

The dominant Hall tribe escaped badly in the 1966-72 car race, allowing the screaming former Chris Amon Matra MS120C of Jordan Grogar to be brought to Tobacco. There Hall sent Roald Goethe’s M19A inside before heading away.

Grogar then came under pressure from BRM P153 ex-Formula 1 driver Esteban Gutierrez. Wearing a helmet honoring Pedro Rodriguez, Gutierrez sent his fellow Mexicans, despite the relative lack of power with his V12.

Unfortunately, Gutierrez soon dropped out due to gearbox problems, briefly causing the yellow color to full course. Grogar was fined for the jump and dropped to third place, second only to Surtees TS9 regular historical leader Michael Lyons.


Photo: Olivier Caenen / ACM

Hall also took pole in the 1973-76 Formula One races, which may have had the best network of riders in the meeting. Brazilian veteran and 41-time GP World Championship winner Roberto Moreno took second place in the Embassy Lola T370, and three-time Le Mans winner Marco Werner was third in Lotus 76. They were followed for the first time by Lyon (McLaren M26), winner of the competition and two others. race in 2021 and Goodwood favorite Nick Padmar (Lotus 77). Former Formula One driver Jean-Denis Deletras and Le Mans legend Emanuel Pira in Shadows also entered the field.

Moreno moved before the light went out, checked himself, and began slowly. When he dropped to fourth, Werner chased after M23 Hall.

PLUS: The car that won the first McLaren F1 titles

Hall withstood Werner’s early attack and retreated with a series of fastest laps, although the stubborn German continued to chase and sometimes shut himself in motion. He finished just 1.5 seconds behind.

Lyons, Moreno and Podmore fought hard for third place, Lyon just held on, and Moreno was demoted from fourth to fifth due to condemnations for his starting activity.

With the Pole Miles Griffiths, who did not start in the uninvented Fittipaldi F5A, Lyon all the way led the F1 competition of 1977-80. The starting link between Williams drivers David Shaw (FW06) and Mark Hazel (FW07B) helped the Hesket driver as Lyon repeated last year’s success and left Mike Cantillon’s Tyrell in a distant second.

The 1981-85 race was a new addition to the event, albeit without the turbochargers that dominated most of the era. Leading are three Lotuses in the JPS livery, Werner (87B) from Lyon (92) and 88 with a double chassis from Podmore.

Mark Werner in action

Mark Werner in action

Photo: Michael Holden

Werner has always driven Lotus 1-2-3, while race and penalties have helped versatile Frank Stipler become fourth in the Alfa Romeo 182.

Another experienced GT racer starred in the Grand Prix with a front-wheel drive before 1961. Claudia Hortgen threw a pole victory at the 1960 Italian Grand Prix Ferrari Dino, just 0.252 seconds ahead of Tony Wood at Tec-Mec. At the start of Wood jumped Lotus 16 Joaquin Folch-Rusinol, but took second place when the leading trio started the second round.

Wood watched Ferrari but failed to hit the hit zone when Michael Birch’s Connaught spun on Anthony’s Leg and was shot down by Marshal Bailey’s Lotus 16.

The lead duo succeeded, but the trio vying for third place – 16s Folch-Rusinol and Max Smith-Billiards, and Maserati 250F Guillermo Fier-Ellet – did not. As a result of the chaos in traffic, red flags appeared, and Fierro-Eleta (double winner in 2021) took third place.

Hurtgen qualified only fifth in the 1952-57 competition on the front engine on the Maserati 300S and was unable to advance despite being in the top five.

Palemen Fred Wakeman (Cooper-Jaguar) did not allow the 300S pair of Lucas Halus and Fier-Elet (Cooper-Jaguar) to win, and Niklas Halus was fourth in the family Jaguar D-type 1954 in Le Mans.

Last year’s winner Mark Shaw was under heavy pressure from Ferrari 1512 Pole Joe Kolasak when he inflicted too much speed on Ste Devote on the penultimate lap of the 1961-65 GP car race.

A shot from the inside in the same corner led Shaw forward, but with Lotus 21 in the Barriers Kolasak won with a score of 31.1 seconds over Cooper T71 / T73 Christopher Drake.

Get started

Get started

Photo: Michael Holden

Mark Gillis (R3A) and Nick Toplis (R4A) created the front row for a pre-war meeting of cars and whistleblowers that matched the entire ERA. Toplis swept outside to enter the first corner when the duo soon left the rest behind.

Initially Toplis built a small pillow, but in the final stages returned to the charged Gili. Going to the penultimate lap, Toplis tried to dive inside Thierry Shanouan in Ste Dowt to get around Riley Dobbs. Contact was established, Toplis resigned with a damaged left rear corner, and Gillis was left to win.

Maserati Anthony Sinapali and Patrick Blackney-Edwards in the Goodwood race, which won the Fraser Nash Monoposto race, completed the podium more than a minute after Evan Sergisan’s Maserati disappeared.

Previous articleReview, prices and specifications of the 2022 Mercedes-Benz C-Class
Next articleVauxhall Insignia has died in the UK, her namesake Opel lives